276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Cuckoo Summer

£3.995£7.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Fortunately, she is neighbours with Tommy and his aunts, who keen an eye out for her as she and Tommy set out on a summer of adventure. An originality comes from the tender friendship between the two, particularly in the form of the language they use - the runaway in her Geordie accent and words, and the farmer's son in terms of his affinity with the natural landscape surrounding him.

As well as being an important story, Cuckoo Summer is an ideal landscape for me; it’s a farm, it’s a community and it’s full of meadows and fells. What’s more, it seems the airman is injured and needs more than Sally’s stolen food and first aid kit. Cuckoo Summer is a perfect book to share alongside WWII topics, and it will be loved by any child looking for an immersive story of adventure and friendship.

His friend Sally Smith is a bit of a mystery, she is an evacuee From Newcastle but she doesn't tell anyone about home, or her family. The story starts in 1940, when Tommy and Sally have a life changing encounter with a wounded soldier - an airmen - hiding in the woods. He is a villain in the mould of some of the worst in children’s literature and quite terrifying at times. Cuckoo Summer is lovingly written and a celebration of the Lakeland and the beauty and remoteness of the area.

They would also only drop off a case of books and leave us to run it – it was so lovely to have you on hand to chat to the children and recommend them books, as well as the small (but appreciated! Meanwhile, Tommy’s having doubts, not only about the size of this secret, or Sally’s circumstances with the hateful Mr Scarcross, but about his father. And so, all the glorious sights and sounds of British nature have flown and grown their way into these pages.

Despite the remoteness of the place, war has touched them is several ways and Tommy's dad is missing in action.

What makes it stand out from other fiction of this genre is its incredible use of the setting of the Lake District. To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average. First and foremost Cuckoo Summer is about the friendship between the two children and the importance of family and community to them both in very different ways.There is an innocence to the children’s attitude to the wounded airman and the accompanying press release for the book mentions the suitability for fans of Whistle Down the Wind and I can well understand why. Yourself and Bob are much cherished in our booky world and I personally really appreciate everything that you do. An interesting and nostalgic look at sheep farmers and countryside history, as well as quite a page turner for this young audience. It kept me interested from the first page to the last, and even gave a little emotional kick at the end. The Lake District is untainted by WWII, with only the evacuees and drafted soldiers any indication there is a war going on, which was a refreshing take of the children's wartime novel – so many stories of the same genre often thrust you right into the action.

When they discover a wounded German airman they decide to hide him to keep him safe from Mr Scarcross, the vengeful and embittered farmer with whom Sally lives. How is it that she learns so quickly and diligently during Aunt Annie’s Sunday School, determined to pick up everything it seems she’s missed… like reading and writing, and using cutlery? The blurb sounded suspiciously like Robert Westall's masterpiece, the Machine Gunners, and I wondered doubtfully whether it would measure up. Scarcross isn’t the only bully amongst their neighbours, and Sally is as much the hunted as the man she’s so determined to protect.Rebecca is a committee member of the National Association of Advisers in English (NAAE) and a member of the Academic Advisory Board for Bookmark (volunteer reading charity). There was just the right amount of choice to suit everyone without being overwhelming and I received comments from parents and staff about the quality of books offered compared to previous sales which have always been based around current crazes and well known celebrity authors.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment